A general election has just been called by prime minister Rishi Sunak for July 4 – meaning Bracknell residents will have an opportunity to select their MP for the coming five years.

Bracknell has had a Conservative MP ever since the seat was created in 1997 – and current MP James Sunderland hopes to keep it.

But the Labour Party will hope to repeat its shock victory in the local elections last year – when it took over Bracknell Forest Council – although it has still not selected its local candidate.

Here’s a list of all the candidates from all the parties that we know have thrown their hat into the ring so far. They are listed in alphabetical order by surname.

  • Justin Bellinghouse – Reform UK
  • Michael Derrig – Social Democratic Party
  • Katie Mansfield – Liberal Democrats
  • Samuel Munyeza – Workers Party of Britain
  • James Sunderland – Conservative Party

We'll keep you updated as more candidates are announced.