Do you think there is one councillor who goes above and beyond for their residents?

If so, they could be crowned one of the best councillors in the country.

The political thinktank the Local Government Information Unit hosts the only national awards ceremony championing the work of councillors.

It is on the lookout for exemplary councillors locally who deserve acknowledgement for the work they do. The awards are split into seven categories.

READ MORE: Investigators call for an overhaul of Bracknell's blue badge process after scrutiny

A fresh category, Resilience and Recovery award, has been added this year, to reflect the work councillors have  done to help their communities bounce back from the impact of the pandemic.

The councillor of the year awards is now in its 12th year, with councillors from area featuring in previous awards.

Councillor Paul Bettison (Conservative, Little Sandhurst and Wellington) won the Judges’ Special Award for Contribution to Local Government in 2013, prior to him being granted the title of Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 2016.

His fellow Bracknell Forest councillor Dale Birch (Conservative, Little Sandhurst and Wellington) was shortlisted for the Wellbeing Champion of the Year in 2014, and Wokingham Borough councillor Prue Bray (Liberal Democrat, Winnersh) was shortlisted for the ‘Scrutineer of the Year’ category in 2013.

READ MORE: Politician continues crusade over 'downgrade' of services at Bracknell's Brants Bridge

Those nominated for awards this year will be shortlisted, with the winners chosen by panel of judges comprised of senior councillors, officers, and leading stakeholders.

The winners will be announced at a part live, part virtual ceremony at a venue in London on Wednesday, December 1.

Below is a list of categories open for nominations this year:

Community Champion

Environment and Sustainability Pioneer

Innovation and Service Transformation

Leader of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award

Resilience and Recovery

Young Councillor of the Year

You can see an explanation of what each category means in the links above. Nominations for the awards are open, and will close at midnight on Friday, September 24.

You can nominate a councillor from England and Wales using the link here:

Nominations are open for anyone, but councillors are not allowed to nominate themselves.

READ MORE: Councillor resigns from Labour in disgust over national leadership

Jonathan Carr-West, the chief executive of Local Government Information Unit, said: “Local government supports all of us, each and every day. On every street, in every town, up and down the country, it is the vital work of councillors that keeps things moving.

“Now is the time for us to support our local heroes by nominating those councillors who have stepped up to the plate during extraordinary circumstances to deliver for their communities.

“As we officially open nominations for Cllr Awards 2021, we welcome contributions from any member of the public as well as other councillors, officers, and leaders. We look forward to once again receiving the highest calibre of nominations and showcasing the essential work of councillors in December.”